IT’S THE LAW (2/2/2021)

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), which includes Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam, has announced key data initiatives and approved a Digital Master Plan for 2025. The ASEAN Data Management Framework and ASEAN Model Contractual Clauses focus respectively on guidelines for data governance, and on contractual terms and conditions for use in legal agreements for cross border transfers. The Digital Master Plan will look at bridging markets, expanding digital skills and building a strong and cohesive digital infrastructure for future expansion.